Arise from the dead. — Ephesians 5:14

Posted: February 16, 2012 in Daily Devotional-Oswald Chambers

All initiative is not inspired. A man may say to you – “Buck up, take your disinclination by the throat, throw it overboard, and walk out into the thing!” That is ordinary human initiative. But when the Spirit of God comes in and says, in effect, “Buck up,” we find that the initiative is inspired.

We all have any number of visions and ideals when we are young, but sooner or later we find that we have no power to make them real. We cannot do the things we long to do, and we are apt to settle down to the visions and ideals as dead, and God has to come and say – “Arise from the dead.” When the inspiration of God does come, it comes with such miraculous power that we are able to arise from the dead and do the impossible thing. The remarkable thing about spiritual initiative is that the life comes after we do the “bucking up.” God does not give us overcoming life; He gives us life as we overcome. When the inspiration of God comes, and He says – “Arise from the dead,” we have to get up; God does not lift us up. Our Lord said to the man with the withered hand – “Stretch forth thy hand,” and as soon as the man did so, his hand was healed, but he had to take the initiative. If we will do the overcoming, we shall find we are inspired of God because He gives life immediately.

Comments
  1. Ooooooo So true I remember Sleeping under A Bridge Bridge next to the Houston ,TX hospital on the Rice University collage campus for 3 months in the spring of 2002 and one night wile i was praying. I asked JESUS CHRIST to help me to get up or i will Die here. The next mourning i woke up and The Holy Sprite spoke to me saying ” Get up and walk my son get up now and just start walking now” and i asked were will i go i no money no food nothing and again The Holy Sprite relay pressed on my heart and said” Do not worry for your my son and i will take care of you and love you like no one ever has in your life. so i got up garbed my empty wallet full of business cards and started walking. Five minuets latter i meet a homeless man the live in a Bus stop Shelter and he had a grocery cart full all that he owned next to him. we talked for 7mininets then he asked me if i ate yet , i said no and he gave me $1.00 and told me to walk 8 blocks north and goto McDonald’s and buy a sausage Mcmuffin and he also gave me 2 bus tokens .so i did that got on the buss rode around for five hours got of the bus in Monstrous . went in to a Second hand store i asked for some clothes and then sandy the owner ,told me to come back a 5:00pm so i did she talked to me for a wile and buy the Grace of GOD She invited me to stay at her house and help me find a job and i found a job Praise GOD so im so thank fut i Listened to GOD and obey what he told me to do or else i would have become Worm Food many years ago. For if JESUS CHRIST can HELP me and Love me Give me a new Life He and Help any one and HE will but people need to Trust him 100% Life was so easy when i was in the Word , i was popular and every thing the World gave give , but one thing i did not have was peace in my soul when i would go to sleep, Now that JESUS CHRIST is LORD of my my life i have the Very thing the that the rich and powerful do not have and can not buy $ that is The Free gift of Salvation and sweet peace of Mind/ Body/Soul and Sprite.

Leave a Reply

